While the strawberries are tasty, so is the clay that we plan to use to build a cob bench and a cob oven. Yup, I ate clay today. It’s got a mineral flavor, but mostly it’s devoid of flavor. Patricia, the garden manager, decided that the strawberries would be her favorite meal of the day and I’m inclined to agree.

So I hit my head today, and I’m pretty sure it’s a result of all the amazing strawberries going to my head. It’s hard to keep my eyes looking up when I am intently focused on finding the most beautiful strawberries imaginable.





Aside from all the tastiness there has been some great creativity going on too. With the help of others, there is now an amazing bamboo teepee to give the beans a place to play and also a bamboo square arch trellis to decorate the new entrance into the permaculture garden.

Even more important, we’ve finished a great heap of compost and have mulched the daylights out of every part of the garden. No water will be able to escape our hard work, and soon our taste buds will reap the rewards.
The basil in the green house has been hooked up to water , and in both the garden and in the raised beds we’ve planted beans, squash, radishes, peppers, carrots, lettuce, beets, and more than could fit on one dinner plate. 
In fact, today we harvested enough lettuce to feed one hundred homeless people.
What more can this amazing garden do? 
The soil is happy. 
The bugs are happy. 
The plants are happy, 
and the people are happy. 
Simply perfect!



Leave a Reply.